Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart….

Well, after the longest trip ever coming home…I am back. I am not quite in the right time zone yet (even after a week), but I am back and hit the ground running. One objective I had while in Malawi was to plan the Study Away trip for Health Care Professionals and others for August 2015. (http://www.uab.edu/students/academics/study-away). If you read my first blog, this is what has been in my heart from the beginning. I am extremely excited about the people that I met this trip and opportunities that are before me for this group. I am still working out the details, but here is a glimpse at the possibilities:

  1. Stay at an orphanage and provide simple health activities.
  2. Visit and assist in the local clinic and Blessings Hospital that is located near the orphanage.
  3. Work with Kamuzu College of Nursing (KCN) faculty and students at the hospital and district clinics.
  4. Work in a nurse developed and run clinic in one of the areas that was affected by the recent flooding.
  5. Work with a group that serves food to more than 600 vulnerable children and women.
  6. Explore two amazing cities in Malawi – Lilongwe and Blantyre.

And that is just the beginning…I can’t wait to lead the team, Malawi is truly my heart. I hope YOU will join me! Contact me for more details – dkwalker@uab.edu

During my trip I also worked with KCN during their OSCE (or validation) for their undergraduate students. I was a runner for supplies because my Chichewa is not even close to being good enough to evaluate a student fairly. But it was a great experience to watch how the faculty worked together and how the students took care of their “patients” with what they were provided, which sometimes was not a lot of supplies.

Room set up with exam rooms and hand washing station at the end of the tables.

Room set up with exam rooms and hand washing station at the end of the tables.

Faculty preparing for OSCE

Faculty preparing for OSCE

On another note, I thought I would provide you with a glimpse at the rains that I experienced every day…the clouds would roll in and dump a ton of water in a matter of minutes. These pictures were taken within minutes of each other. You can see how flooding can be an issue.

deb walker final blog post pic3

deb walker final blog post pic 4deb walker final blog post pic 5

 

A few more pictures around town and across the country…so you can see what you can experience during the Study Away Program in August 2015!

The “Quick Pass Driving School” was not so quick….long line of traffic and even a pedestrian was walking faster.

The “Quick Pass Driving School” was not so quick….long line of traffic and even a pedestrian was walking faster.

Jeans for sale at a local market

Jeans for sale at a local market

Tea plantation

Tea plantation

The rain clouds for the day

The rain clouds for the day

A glimpse of beautiful Lake Malawi

A glimpse of beautiful Lake Malawi

One thought on “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart….

Leave a Reply

