Why Malawi? (Part 2) – The path…

If you read my first story you learned the beginning of how Malawi came to be for me. Was it a path that I chose or one that I was led to? I obviously had a choice, but I feel like it was more the “leading me” that got me to where I am today.

Zomba

Zomba

The path has not been the straight and narrow, nor has it always been easy. It has been full of twists, turns, curves (often hairpin), mountains and molehills. But with each experience, my eyes have been opened, often to a whole new perspective.

Zomba Plateau

Zomba Plateau

One reason I do it and keep doing it…it’s the people – the beautiful people.

Do you ever wonder why you meet a particular person? Why on earth did your path cross with theirs? Is it to gain a new insight? Give them a new one? Bring someone happiness? A smile? Challenge our way of thinking? Establish a relationship that connects you with others – which you may have not met otherwise.

I believe my path crosses with others for a reason. I may not know the reason at the time, but maybe I am not meant to know. Along this lifelong path that I am on I have met some beautiful, amazing people –especially in Malawi or connected to Malawi. Each has contributed to me trying to understand this complex world that we live in – full of diversity, emotion…. I am finally starting to see the pieces fitting together, which is rewarding. So as I continue to try and understand the challenges of the healthcare here in Malawi, I must first understand the people and their challenges –be it physical, emotional, spiritual –the everyday stuff.

Chip, owner of Satermwa Tea and Coffee Estate - www.satemwa.com/story

Chip, owner of Satermwa Tea and Coffee Estate – http://www.satemwa.com/story

So this trip seems different for me –the people, the place…I am making more connections and trying to understand where do I go from here and what on earth am I supposed to do next.

Men passing the time with friends

Men passing the time with friends

I am meeting with people from other schools of nursing to see how I can help them develop oncology content; meeting with people at the College of Medicine to discuss interdisciplinary activities; and met an amazing nurse opening up a clinic in a neighboring village (I think I might bring the students here)…so making progress and heading in the right direction. It is all very exciting!

Chrissie - Amazing nurse who is opening a clinic

Chrissie – Amazing nurse who is opening a clinic

deb walker blog post 3 pic 7

The people of Malawi

 

The people of Malawi

The people of Malawi

Leave a Reply

