I refuse…

By Dr. Deborah Walker

Faculty from the Community Department – Claire (from Australia), Idesi, Winnie, Jane and Debbie

Faculty from the Community Department –
Claire (from Australia), Idesi, Winnie, Jane and Debbie

Last week I was busy working with the community department helping them look through the whole curriculum and individual modules identifying areas for oncology content. I feel like we got a lot accomplished. Winnie, Jane, Claire and Idesi are fantastic! This week I spent time with the med-surg faculty at various times – Gladys, Rodwell and Annie. I have provided them with a tool kit on a disc to get started and I will continue to help them identify information for their modules. So much to do, so little time left.

I was able to meet with the US Embassy Officials and thank them for my Fulbright and will be meeting with the Ministry of Health Officials tomorrow. They have asked that I inform them of what I am doing here in Malawi in an effort to connect people and initiatives so that people are not always working in silos. Brilliant idea!

Hand Washing Station

Hand Washing Station

I also had some time at the hospital and spent some time in the oncology area. I was able to talk with a nurse who administered chemotherapy and the Chief Nursing Officer about their needs for oncology education. I took two pages of notes, so I think I have my work cut out for me for the next trip. Words cannot describe what I saw. I didn’t take a picture. I didn’t need to. It will be forever in my mind.

After work this week I decided to be adventurous. I hopped on a bus and headed back to Blantyre to meet up with Lynda Wilson and a few other ladies that I have met here. We had a girl’s weekend at Bushman’s Baobab. What fun! It was like we were all old friends getting back together – oh the stories!

Debbie (Me-AL), MaryAnne (Peace Corps-Michagan), Katrin (Germany), Rachel (From Wisconsin, but after her Fulbright, moved to Malawi fulltime), Lynda (AL), Ros (UK)

Debbie (Me-AL), MaryAnne (Peace Corps-Michagan), Katrin (Germany), Rachel (From Wisconsin, but after her Fulbright, moved to Malawi fulltime), Lynda (AL), Ros (UK)

 

Picture are from around the camp site. No electricity. The picture on the bottom of the collage is what I stayed in. Please note: No door, just a curtain!  With elephants, wort hogs, etc. outside. If you are thinking -“how frightening.” Why yes, I was thinking the same. Not much sleep this weekend.

Picture are from around the camp site. No electricity. The picture on the bottom of the collage is what I stayed in. Please note: No door, just a curtain! With elephants, wort hogs, etc. outside. If you are thinking -“how frightening.” Why yes, I was thinking the same. Not much sleep this weekend.

I don’t know why but I have such a facination for these trees – Baobab tree AKA Malambe tree.

I don’t know why but I have such a facination for these trees – Baobab tree AKA Malambe tree.

I thought I would share a picture of the shower and the view from the shower in the morning. You have to be very efficient.

I thought I would share a picture of the shower and the view from the shower in the morning. You have to be very efficient.

walkerblogpic8_8-19

 As my time comes to a close,” I refuse” to think that I am done here in Malawi…I believe I have only just begun. During my 4.5 hour bus ride back to Blantyre, as I was listening to my music…this song came on and sums it up! I hope you read it and then download it and really listen to it.

“I Refuse” By Josh Wilson

Sometimes I, I just wanna close my eyes

And act like everyone’s alright

well no they’re not

This world needs God, but it’s easier to stand and watch

I could say a prayer and just move on

like nothin’s wrong

But I refuse

cause I don’t wanna live like I don’t care

I don’t wanna say another empty prayer

Oh I refuse, to sit around and wait for someone else

To do what God has called me to do myself

Oh I could choose not to move

but I refuse

I can hear the least of these

cryin’ out so desperately

and I know we are the hands and feet of You oh God

So if You say move

it’s time for me to follow through

and do what I was made to do

and show them who You are

Cause I don’t wanna live like I don’t care

I don’t wanna say another empty prayer

Oh I refuse to sit around

and wait for someone else

to do what God has called me to do myself

Oh I could choose

not to move

but I refuse

to stand and watch the weary and lost

cry out for help

I refuse

to turn my back

and try and act like all is well

I refuse

to stay and change

to wait another day

to die to myself

I refuse

to make one more excuse

cause I don’t wanna live like I don’t care

I don’t wanna say another empty prayer

Oh I refuse

to sit around and wait for someone else

to do what God has called me to do myself

oh I could choose

not to move

but I refuse

I refuse

I refuse

yeah

walkerblogpic9_8-19

I will miss the “warm heart” of Africa.

Until next time Malawi!!

Leave a Reply

