And so the journey continues…

walkergraphic1

By Dr. Deborah Walker

I left August 1 from Birmingham, AL to head back to Malawi for another 3 weeks to work with faculty at Kamuzu College of Nursing. So excited to be going back! This time a friend and colleague (Lynda) joined me for part of the flight. We traveled together from Birmingham to Johhannesburg, South Africa, and spent the night.Screen Shot 2014-08-04 at 9.13.47 AM

 

We had time to go to the gym, answer emails, chit chat and I even did a little Facetime with my husband, Eric. (The world seems so small sometimes with technology). Lynda and I parted ways this morning. she will be in Blantyre and I will be in Lilongwe.

walkergraphic3Now, after two and a half days, I have finally arrived at my destination. I was greeted at the airport by my friend, Christina who is from Malawi, and works for 100x Development in Montgomery.She is working with teams (healthcare and education) from the US who stay at Mtendere Village where I usually stay AND where I want to bring a group of students next summer (to find out more about the study abroad, email me). This time I will be staying at a different place, closer to KCN in Lilongwe…I was a little nervous, but I think I am going to love it here.   I am staying at the Titantic, which is ironic since there is no water to be found for miles (it is dry season), and it is as hot as the sun. But it is lovely. Very peaceful. Tomorrow I start at KCN.

 

One thought on “And so the journey continues…

Leave a Reply

